Inspiration

  • Hi friends!  I hope you’re all enjoying your weekend.  I have done absolutely nothing these past couple days, and it’s been great.  I’ve gotten the chance to catch up on all my blogging business, cross plenty of things off my To-Do list, and start reading The Hunger Games, which I love so far!  As fantastic as these past days have been, all good times must come to an end.
  • TOMORROW IS RACE DAY!  This past week of training has been so-so; I’ve been experiencing some pain in my lower calves (they’ve been super tight).  I’ve put everything completely behind me though and I’m ready to go!  My pre-race ritual is a pump up playlist, encouraging words from my parents, sister, and friends, and this awesome passage that I found a couple weeks ago:
  • “You can always do more than you think. You can always do better than your best. Limits and handicaps are placed in your life for you to overcome them. They are not put there as a reason to whine. Our world is a never ending testimony how in every impossible resides a “possible.” Question your limiting beliefs. Challenge them through personal action. Train yourself on a daily basis to get in the habit of trying to do the impossible. Go directly after your “I can’ts.” Do not give in to them. Do not let your “I can’ts” define who you are and what you can do.   You can always do more than you think you can. ALWAYS!”
  • “To perform to your best you have to put yourself on automatic, trust your skills and training, and let your performance happen. Thinking too much, before and during your performances will only tend to gum up the works. Keep your focus away from your thoughts and on the game and exactly what you are doing. Thinking too much will distract you from the task at hand and slow you down in every way.  Keep your head in the performance. When you notice that little voice in your head chattering away, ignore it, and immediately bring your focus back to what you’re doing.  Don’t think, just react!  Don’t think just feel! Trust yourself.”
  • Reading these words on the way to the meet really helps me to focus on my race and they make me want to run harder than I’ve ever run before.  Today has been super low-key and I’ve done nothing but hang out, read, blog, fuel, and HYDRATE.  I’m totally ready to go out there tomorrow and finish off my season the right way!
Have a relaxing Sunday!
Are you reading any good books right now?  What are your pre-race rituals? Do you have any inspiring words that you read before you take on a race or difficult task of any sort?
9 thoughts on “Inspiration

  1. Alexandra says:

    AHH Best of luck on your race tomorrow!! Can’t wait to hear all about it, I’m sure you’re gonna own it :)
    I’m lovin the motivational quotes, too, definitely gonna be printing some of those!

  2. funfreshfit says:

    GOOD LUCK!!! Go in with positive thoughts and (like your passages say) trust yourself and your body to prove what it’s capable of! You will do amazing, you always do. Your hard work will pay off and you will have an incredible race (PR PR PR PR PR??).
    AND DON’T FORGET! I WILL BE THERE CHEERING YOU ON! And by cheering you on, we both know I mean screaming (and potentially losing my voice in the process) from the sidelines!!
    Love you!! And do not worry, you will do amazing! <3

  3. Good luck girl… I seriously knowwww you are going to rock that race! I truly believe in you :) I am loving the motivation in this too

  4. Have a great race today!!! :)

  5. Hydrate or dydrate! Lolz that’s what we say on our rugby team. I hope you have an awesome race! It sounds like you’re in a good mental spot for it, so just keep those thoughts positive and run. :)

  6. Molly says:

    Good luck on your race! I haven’t raced much myself, but I do run and my advice is to remember to enjoy yourself. When I want to give up, I remind myself “My body is so awesome that I can do this”. And thinking about the cheers, invincible feeling, and snacks afterward always helps. Enjoy “The Hunger Games”! I’m not always a big reader, but I couldn’t put those down! I can’t wait for the movie :)

  7. Brittany says:

    Good luck..you’ll do great!

  8. Beautiful post! The mind is a powerful tool, feeding it with all the positive ideas and assuring it that there are no limits makes all the difference in the challenges that we set out to face!

  9. [...] though.  Thank you all so much for the encouraging words and “goodlucks” on my Inspiration post.  I appreciate it so much!  So that’s about it for my little race recap.  I’m [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

