Just Fillin’ Ya In A Bit

Sooo as I promised, I’m gonna fill you in a bit on my running career!  This post will also include my excuse for why I haven’t told you about my daily eats yet (isn’t that what the title of my blog is?!).  So where to start?  Running has become a very important part of my life.  I joined the cross country team my junior year and did OKAY, probably in the top 20 of my 100+ team (I know, crazy).  That winter, in the first week of track, I tore cartilage in my knee.  That was a huge upset and really put my running career on hold through winter and most of spring.  After rockin’ the knee brace post surgery for a couple of months, I started to heal and could eventually start running again.  This is when I kicked it into gear.  I had put on a bit of weight, just from not being able to exercise and was ready to slim down a bit and feel better about my body and be able to excel in my running.  The summer going into my senior year, I worked my BUTT off.  I woke up every morning and went right out the door for my run, and boy did my hard work pay off.  I went into my senior year of cross country feeling confident and eager to race.  I knew the weight I had lost had my coach feeling wary about how I was going to able to run…so I made sure to kick it during that first practice to make sure he knew that it was for the better.  Fast forward a couple months…my high school ended up finishing first in our division!  I had a solid year, and improved every race.  The best part was that I enjoyed every single bit of it.  I grew a passion for not only running, but racing as well.  The adrenaline that rushed through my body on the starting line was the best.  I became closer with all my friends and had not one regret the entire season.  The best part was the spirit days…

OLD LADIES ANYONE?

I’m currently running the 2 mile in winter track and although I love it, it’s not the same as cross.  I think I’ll always prefer running 5k’s over running around the track!  My biggest goal for this season is to break my school record-definitely a challenge, but hey what’s wrong with a good challenge?! Nada.

And now my excuse about the food.  Honestly, the reason I haven’t posted about what I eat throughout the day to fuel myself as a runner is because I haven’t been taking ANY pictures.  I’m just not used to it yet!  My goal for tomorrow is to snap some sweet pix of my meals before I start chowing.  I think that’s reasonable!  Just gotta remember.  So this is my promise to you that I will be better about posting my food intake from now on!

If you have any questions about anything I just ranted on about, please feel free to ask :).  Sorry this post was a bit long!  If you made it all the way here-thanks for stickin’ with me!  Do any of you run?  Anyone that ran collegiality or is planning on it? 

Tagged , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “Just Fillin’ Ya In A Bit

  1. Brittany says:

    Yahhoooo! Welcome to the blog world, and I am jazzed to have another bloggy buddy! I enjoy running, but could never run for a college! I am wayyy too slow!! I still truck on my merry way though.

    Snapping pictures of your food might seem weird at first, and especially weird when other people are around (if you dare even snap pictures in front of others) but it will become normal to you soon enough. My friends and family just know I am uber weird as it is, so when I first starting taking pictures of my food they didn’t think much of it! Most of them know about my blog now so it doesn’t even matter!

    • thanks for the sweeet comment 🙂 good for you for running! who cares if you can’t run a 5 minute mile! and totally agree on the pix of the food thing…my friends don’t really know about the blog (yet) so if i wipped out my phone and took a picture of my almond butter & banana sandwhich..im pretty sure they would think something is seriously wrong with me! but ill figure something out!

  2. Heidi Murphy says:

    I loved reading your story! 🙂

    I am a runner but not competitively (unless you count myself haha) currently training for a half-marathon!

  3. I can understand why torn cartilage would upset you, being a runner myself! I remember when I first started blogging I kept forgetting to take pictures too…I’m sure you will get the hang of it 🙂

  4. Thanks for sharing your story! I ran cross country and track in High School as well! Brings back fun memories! Cross Country was def the best 🙂

  5. Aw injuries are no fun! I’m not really much of a runner… although I Think it’s like the greatest workout ever! I try to run 5-6 miles a week, but usually in small doses 😉

  6. Tara says:

    This just reaffirmed twin status. My first season of XC was junior year too, so like you I had a late start, but love it all the same. 2 mile is my favorite track race other than the one chance I get to run the 5k on the track. I’m all about the longer distance though and XC course are way more fun. I got injured this year though and I know exactly what it’s like. It’s not easy, but it makes your desire to do well that much stronger!! I don’t take as many food pictures as I used to to be honest. Usually just when I make a recipe, try a new product, or just make something particularly interesting. That way I keep a balance between running posts and food posts.

    I am planning on running collegiately!! I don’t know where I’m going to go yet though. I wonder if we applied to any of the same schools? How cool would it be if we were future teammates?!

    • UNREAL if we were future teammates! im not sure where im going yet either…the schools i’ve applied to are in new england though..you?! and dont even get me started on being injured..im sure you know as much as i do, it’s the worst. definitely a great motivator as you said though!

  7. caloricandcrazy says:

    Cute blog! Can’t wait to see future pics! 🙂

Leave a Reply

