Race Recap & WIAW

Hello to all of my lovely readers!  I hope you are all having a great week. More than halfway over!  I’ve got some exciting stuff to share today.  First off, yesterday was my big race I was telling you all about on Monday!  10 Nalgenes later, I rocked it.  I won the two-mile in my league meet and PR’d! What more could I ask for?  Nada, I’m feeling grateful and blessed to be able to run and do what I love everyday! My previous time for the two was an 11:51, and that happened to be a race where I had a girl in front of me that I was pacing off of.  She wasn’t in my race yesterday, so it was a bit tougher because I was the one out there pacing everyone else.  I had a feeling that might happen, so I was ready to make the watch my biggest competitor.  I had my two supportive parents out there giving me my splits and cheering me on very loudly!  Something I will never take for granted.  Overall, I felt good while I was racing.  I really think I prepared well for this race by going easy on those couple days before and making sure I was rested, hydrated, and fueled.  I came across the finish line at 11:41 and feeling like I really gave it my all.  For anyone who runs, it’s a great feeling huh?!  RUNNER’S HIGH!

And of course we can’t forget about WIAW!  This is only my second time doing it, but both times I’ve posted at night about what I ate that same day.  I think I’m gonna change that up in the future, so I don’t feel bad if I forget to take a picture of anything I put in my mouth on a Wednesday.  But for this week, it’s what I had today!  P.S. sorry in advance for the not so stellar quality pictures.

Breakfast was the usual vanilla chobani with granola (which included raisins, pumpkin seeds, and almonds..yum).  Never fails to satisfy.

These were my morning snacks; a blueberry & strawberry parfait & a cinnamon apple chobani.  Two chobani’s in one morning?  Oops.  But regardless, it was delicious!

This is where I become forgetful.  My lunch was a tasty pear and the wrap of champions……in which I forgot to take a picture of when building this morning.  I couldn’t think of a valid excuse as to why I was taking a picture of my wrap at lunch today and I knew you guys would understand!  Be creative and imagine a whole wheat wrap filled with a honey mustard spread, chicken, sliced apple, craisins, and crushed almonds. Oh yes, it happened.  I promise I will get a picture of it soon!

My afternoon snack took place about an hour after my recovery run and it was a granola, craisin combo (just couldn’t get enough of the granola this morning).  Super satisfying and delicious.

Dinner was where I had my second “Shoot I didn’t take a picture of that before eating it” moment.  I did get 2/3 of it though!  I had a baby spinach salad topped with sliced carrots and craisins, a sweet potato, and Morning Star black bean burger.  Not my proudest dinner, but very convenient for those nights where you don’t have all the time in the world and you need something quick!  So maybe I didn’t take it myself, but I still got a picture of the burger.
That’s it for my eats!  I decided my goal for this coming week is to get more creative, I always see everyone’s super-cool personal recipes and I’m eager to try out some new things!
On one last note, I want to thank Julianna from http://www.juliannabananna.com/ for having a fantastic giveaway that I got lucky enough to win!  I received my package today full of wonderful goodies that I can’t wait to try!  You should definitely go check out her blog 🙂
That’s it for today my friends.  I appreciate everyone who reads and comments on my posts, it means a lot!
Have any of you ever experienced a  “Runner’s high” or have a memorable story about a time you PR’d?
If you have tried the new flavors of chobani, which one is your favorite?
Does anyone have any suggestions on how to get more creative with  meals and snacks throughout the day?
Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “Race Recap & WIAW

  1. Rach says:

    Congrats on your PR and coming first!!!! That’s such an amazing achievement! You must be over the moon! :O Haha not taking a photo of your wrap made me laugh because I always want to take photos of my food when I’ve got a camera in hand but friend’s probably wouldn’t ‘get it’. Haha 😛 Runner’s high I have experienced for sure – PR not yet 😛 Here in NZ we don’t have chobani! *cries* but when I go to the US sometime in the future I’d be dead keen to try it 😛 As the the creativity front, perhaps google some ideas on how to make the meals and snacks more interesting? Experimenting with baking is always fun 😀 Lots of blogs offer great inspiration too 😛 I wish I could give better advice haha but I’m new to the blogging world myself 😛 Wow this was a long comment! xD

  2. Congrats on your run, that’s awesome! I love runner’s high! It’s the best…although I haven’t done a race in a while so I haven’t experienced one lately. I’ve only tried two of the new flavors so far. they didn’t have the blood orange one when I went grocery shopping but I have a feeling that will be my fav! I love blood oranges.

  3. Brittany says:

    Holy speed demon!!! Your time to run two miles is about a minute faster than my average ONE mile!! Way to go!!!

  4. Tara says:

    CONGRATSSSS!!! Ahh nothing beats a good PR, am I right? I swear it leaves me on cloud 9 and I just feel like I’m floating. You are going to do amazing things in outdoor… and I’m sure throughout the rest of indoor, but we all know outside is faster just by nature! Pacing everyone else is such a challenge. I’d probably rather not come in first, but run with a really strong group of girls to pull me a long. That being said, the fact that you ran such an awesome time WITHOUT someone pacing you is AMAZING! Keep on doin’ whatcha do girl… love it.

  5. Sarah says:

    Great job on the race! Your time is awesome :)) Two chobani’s in the same morning? No bit deal, so yummy and good for ya! Have a nice day!

  6. congrats on your race!! dang girl you are speedy!! :)))
    lovin’ all of your eats – i’ve definitely eaten like three chobanis in one day before, heh.

    thanks for the shout out – glad you liked the package!!

  7. caloricandcrazy says:

    I haven’t tried the new flavors of Chobani yet, but I prefer Fage and Oikos greek yogurts 🙂

Leave a Reply

