Vent Session/Hunger Cues

Happy Saturday!  I’m super relieved that it is finally the weekend.  If you hadn’t noticed from my lack of posting/commenting, the end of my weeks are always super busy.  Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday are usually manageable and I can find time to get on the computer and stay active, but then Thursday comes and I feel like I don’t even have time to breath.  The weekend is great because it’s catch up time!  I’ve been meaning to write out this post for almost a week and I’m glad I finally found the time to do so.
The beginning of the week I had an off day, I think it was Monday?  Just one of those days where nothing was going right and my eating was kind of off. Some days I feel great, while other days I still find myself struggling with my mind trying to tell me I shouldn’t have eaten that.  It’s not something I’m completely open about and like to talk about, but it was really bothering me and I know there are tons of people in the healthy blogging community that struggle with the same thing.  I find it comforting to realize that I’m not the only one who has off days like these sometimes.  They aren’t very often, but they do make an appearance.  I’ve been working on eating more frequently lately, trying not to allow myself to get ravenous which means having something before my blood sugar drops.  I eat breakfast between 7 and 7:30, a small snack around 10, another at 11, lunch at 1, an afternoon snack around 4-5, and dinner between 6:30 and 7:30.  I also usually have some kind of sweet or snack after dinner.
I feel this is PLENTY, and sometimes my mind trys to tell me it’s almost too much on those bad days.  I’ve gotten a lot better about making sure I’m eating enough, especially since I’ve grown more serious about running.  Food is fuel.  A question I have to anyone that can relate to any of the above, is do you ever cut corners throughout the day, such as eat a smaller snack or not have enough for dinner?  The past couple of nights I’ve found myself coming home from being out, at around 10 or 11, and grabbing handfuls of granola and some peanut butter, and I’m not really sure why.  I don’t think I’m depriving my body of food throughout the day, so why have I been doing this lately?  It really doesn’t happen THAT often, but it has happened the past couple of nights and it’s been bothering me.  It’s not even that my stomach is growling, I just feel like eating something.
That leads to hunger cues.  Listening to my body is VERY important, but I almost feel like I have a warped sense of knowing when I’m hungry.  Sometimes I’ll catch myself thinking “Oh it’s been two hours since I’ve eaten last, I can have something now”.  While I correct myself immediately and remind myself I can have something whenever I want, I still hate that I initially think that.  I guess the whole reason for this post is to get out the frustration of my bad day this week and seek advice?  Totally rambled this entire time.  If you read this entire post, thank you.  I appreciate it!  I hope you all are having a fabulous weekend.
Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “Vent Session/Hunger Cues

  1. i definitely think it’s really hard to listen to your body sometimes!! a lot of nights when i get home late from working a long shift at work, i just want to eat and catch up on blogs. the problem with this is, most of the time i’m not hungry, and the longer i’m on the computer, the more i eat!
    i have good days and bad days, too – we just gotta get through the bad days and figure out why they’re kinda crappy! it’s hard not to get caught up in the ‘off’ days and get mad at yourself if you feel like you ate a ton more than you needed or something, but i would take a gander to say that almost every human has felt this at some point or another.

  2. Tara says:

    I’ve been struggling a lot with this lately, believe me you are not alone!! I used to be great at listening to my hunger cues a few months ago, but for whatever reason since December I’ve just been all over the place with my eating. It leaves me feeling guilty sometimes, but like you said, as a serious athlete you need to remember that food is fuel and you have to get enough if you want to train and perform your best!!

  3. […] Vent Session/Hunger Cues (eatingforexcellence.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

