A State Meet & A Tough Decision

  • What are some other ways to start off a post besides saying Happy Wednesday?  Beats me, so Happy Wednesday!  Usually I’d be doing my WIAW post today, but I’m determined to perfect my oatmeal recipe before I publish that post.  So it’s likely that this week it will be WIAW: Thursday Edition.  Possibly Friday…or Saturday…you know how that goes.  There is just no way to escape the end of the week craziness.  Speaking of end of the week….
  • My state meet is TOMORROW.  I feel like I was just racing in my league meet yesterday…time flies.  I’m starting to get myself psyched up and ready to go.  My biggest goal for tomorrow is to break the school record which I’m off by just about 10 seconds, so I’m gonna have to work hard.  I’ll have plenty of girls around me to pace off of though so I’m looking forward to giving it my all and hopefully accomplishing my goal!
  • And the second part of this post has to do with the one and only college.  Ohhhh boy.  I never thought in a million years that the time would ever come for me to start looking at colleges and figuring out my future.  I’m serious about my running and am looking forward to working hard and improving greatly during my college career.  I also know that I want to study nutrition and have been excepted to programs at several different schools.  I’ve narrowed it down to two colleges that both have a strong running program and offer a great nutrition program.  I’ve done official visits to both schools and ever since I got back from my last one yesterday, I’ve been going BACK AND FORTH between these two schools.  I’ve made a master list of pro’s and con’s and honestly have no idea how I’m going to figure out which one I want to go to.  Even typing this out I’ve gone back and forth between the two.  Such a challenge ahhhh!  No big deal though, it only decides my future for the next 4 years.  The worst part is, I’ve only got about two weeks to decide.  I just want this process to be over with and the coaches I’m sure do too, so they’re looking for commitments from all their recruits.  With all these stressful things being said, I’m sure I’ll end up happy and just where I belong next year.
  • Well, I’ve got to go get my stuff ready for the meet tomorrow & get to bed early.  Tomorrow is a big day!  Don’t forget to enter my giveaway while you’re at it!  And I’d love it if you helped me promote it too.  There are ten winners; it’d be pretty embarrassing if I didn’t have enough people entered to give them all away! I hope you all have a lovely end of the week 🙂
Have you ever broken any records in a race?  Did you have a tough time deciding where you wanted to go to college?  Any advice on how to make that final decision and be confident about it?
9 thoughts on “A State Meet & A Tough Decision

  1. Tara says:

    You’re gonna kill it tomorrow. Seriously. I believe in you!! I’ve broken a few XC records but our track records are a little craycray so I don’t think I’ll be breaking those! I totally know what you mean about college. Except I’m going as a walk on anywhere except one school so I’m not pressured by commiting, just getting in! I do really like the one school where I am considered a recruit but they aren’t putting any pressure on me thank goodness! I’m sure whatever you decide will be right in the end. It seems like you like both schools so no matter what you’d be happy!!

  2. You totally can rock the race tomorrow. I believe in you! I had trouble deciding between colleges, and defs ended up at the right place. 🙂 Honestly, as a college student, I think the actual college name matters very little.. Like, if you take two similar colleges, except the minor details, the experience is all about what YOU make of it. So, even if you don’t think you’re at your perfect college right away, you can definitely change your attitude on life a little, tweak some things, and make it absolutely perfect for you! Again, I know the college decision process is HARD and super scary, so if you ever want to talk to a current college student, I got your back! Good luck girl!

  3. Alexandra says:

    You’re gonna OWN your race, I know it!!
    And don’t worry too much about the big college decision, I’m sure you’ll make the right choice 🙂 I’ve transferred once before and about to transfer again in order to follow my dreams for my major, so I feel ya on the chaos that can come from choosing. I had to do a lot of soul searching and praying to come to my decision, but in the end, it was worth it.
    You can do it my friend! Keep us posted, like Chelsea said, we’re all here to support you!! 🙂

    • Thank you!! It’s so brave of you to go and follow your dreams like that, I can imagine how that might be a tough situation at times, but I’m sure in the end you’ll graduate with the degree you worked hard for! And thanks for the kind words, means a lot 🙂 have a great rest of the week!

  4. good luck on your race tomorrow!!

    i definitely feel ya on the whole college thing – it’s definitely stressful! i haven’t gotten a lot of my acceptances yet but when i do i know i’ll have a really tough time deciding.

  5. Sarah says:

    I can’t wait to hear how the race went, although I’m sure you killed it. As far as college goes if your equally tied between the two I would go with the one you fell in love with first. To second that, I’m sure whichever you choose you will be happy at because you are so equal with both 🙂 Go with your gut! I ended up taking a year off and am starting college in the fall (community) because it’s so much cheaper and I’m going for my doctorate so in the long run any saving of $$ is worth it!!!

Leave a Reply

