Calories? What Are Those?

  • Hello all!  I’ve got kind of an opinionated post for you today, but I’m sure it’s something you will all agree with!  A recent pet peeve of mine (and I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t once guilty of this) is the obsession with low calorie foods.  This is something I used to struggle with simply because I couldn’t imagine why I would ever want to have a filling and healthy serving of calorie-dense almonds when I could just have a 90-calorie bar.  I guess I used to enjoy eating chemicals?  Anyways, I’ve come a long way and finally see the light.
EAT THIS

NOT THAT
  • I now realize that eating snacks such as a piece of fruit with some nuts, a protein bar, healthy trail mix, and yogurt are a MUCH better option than those 100-calorie packs of cheez-its & cookies.  They are filled with simplex carbs & chemicals that will have your stomach growling probably 30 minutes after you finish them.  The more calorie dense snacks however will keep you satisfied and won’t allow your blood sugar to drop (most of the time)!
  • I know that it’s easy to get caught up and kind of be intimidated when you see for example that such a small amount of peanut butter has a larger amount of calories, but they are good calories!  My latest theory is that if they are good calories that will keep you full & provide great nutrients to your body, than you shouldn’t worry about them 🙂  Something that I try to remind myself of everyday.  I know this was short; but I think I was able to get my point across.
  • Do you agree with this?  Have you ever guilty of grabbing something such as a 90-calorie snack when you know you should having something healthier even though it contains more calories? Do you know of any popular foods that contain chemicals?
10 thoughts on “Calories? What Are Those?

  1. I totally agree that good calories are worth it and so much better for your body. Chemicals are not food, period. Nothing will change my mind on that. I could eat a nice sized bowl of fruit for 100 calories, and it would be so much more satisfying than a dinky gross 100 calorie pack. Nice post girl!

  2. Gabby says:

    Thanks for posting about this! It takes someone who is truly conscious of her health to realize that it’s about ingredients not calories. I agree with this 100% but didn’t always see things this way. Now I get annoyed when my friends brag lightheartedly about how healthy they are with their Special K,Yoplait, and diet drinks with all their high fructose corn syrup and artificial sweeteners. Some will even say that they’ve heard chemical sweeteners are bad but that they don’t care because they just want to save calories. And now I’ll get off my soapbox. Are those Odwalla bars good? I haven’t tried them.

  3. funfreshfit says:

    I totally agree! Calories don’t matter as long as they’re GOOD calories! And the higher calorie, healthier options will keep you fuller and more energized longer so at some point it’ll balance out after the 3 100 calorie packs you plow through that don’t fill you up! They’re EMPTY CALORIES! Yay for healthy snacks<3
    xox love the post!

  4. I’m definitely a snacker, so I agree with everything you said! Almonds and pistachios are my favourite nuts and make a great snack! 🙂

  5. Maggie @ Running on Fro-Yo says:

    I couldn’t agree more with this post! I HATE hearing my friends going on these diets where all they eat is 100 calories packs and things like that! Real food > processed junk!!

    But I definitely do get tempted by the idea that these snacks are so low in calories, however, I have to remind myself they are also low in nutrition because of it!

  6. bananaoats says:

    I completely relate to this! I cringe when I see people eating low fat treats and snacks. They think they’re doing something good for their diet but they’re not! It’s so hard for me to bite my tongue.

  7. Brittany says:

    I have indeed been guilty of this. Although I not eat these kinds of snacks as treats or ALONG with other foods.

Leave a Reply

