Sunday Run Day & NuGo Nutrition Review

I love Sundays. Unpopular opinion? It’s always my day to catch-up, complete my weekly Costco trip, go to Church, and just tie up any loose ends!  And you know what else Sunday means? Long run day!  There is something so refreshing and peaceful about getting up early on a Sunday morning and completing my long run for the week.  Personally, I think having 7-10 miles done before 10 AM is the perfect way to start a day.  Productivity at its finest!
Because of my running break in between seasons and my low mileage the first couple of weeks of outdoor track, I haven’t gone on my Sunday long runs in a while.  Boy, does it feel good to have those back on my training schedule.  And to refuel after my run?  Something new!  I’ve heard lots about these breakfast cookies and have been eager to try one.  Guess what I concocted last night and stuck in the fridge to enjoy this morning? Yup, you guessed it.
I found this recipe on The Fitnessista! Thanks Gina 🙂 IT WAS SO GOOD. I topped it with chocolate PB2 & banana and enjoyed every single bite. I think this will become my new post long run meal.
Next up, a review!  NuGo Nutrition was kind enough to send me some samples of their new slim bars.
 Gone in a matter of 24 hours after I received them, oops.  I seriously couldn’t help myself though.  It’s a great company that sells EIGHT different types of bars; you’re bound to find one that matches your dietary needs!  The bars that I got to try were the NuGO Slim bars that came in three different flavors; Brownie Crunch, Roasted Peanut, and Raspberry Truffle.
A little more on these specific bars from their website:
For years our customer have told us that they wanted a low sugar, high protein snack without the artificial sweeteners and sugar alcohols found in so many other diet products. This is why we are introducing NuGo Slim, an almost sugar free, all-natural bar dipped in REAL Dark Chocolate with no maltitol. With only 2g sugar (coming from our REAL Dark Chocolate), these bars pack 15 to 17g protein and 7g fiber. This will help you feel full and stay full in between meals. Try NuGo Slim in one of our three delicious flavors today!”
Loaded with protein and not sugar?  Uh, yes please. These were great.  I had them for a snack once, but I enjoyed them the most for dessert. The real dark chocolate is unbelievably rich and satisfying and it’s certainly what made these bars stand out to me.  The perfect palette cleanser! What amazed me most was the fact that they could taste so delicious and still have great nutritional benefits. The Raspberry Truffle was out of this world.  I absolutely recommend these bars!
If you’re interested and want to learn more about NuGo Nutrition, you can visit their website here 
You can also check them out on twitter & facebook
Disclaimer: I have personally reviewed the items above.  My opinions are entirely mine.
What did you do this weekend?  Does anyone else save their long runs for Sundays?
 
Enjoy the rest of your day! XO
8 thoughts on “Sunday Run Day & NuGo Nutrition Review

  1. Alexandra says:

    A run and a delicious breakfast sure sound like a great start to your Sunday! 😉 now I gotta go check out that recipe.. enjoy your day girl!

  2. i love sundays too! they’re just so relaxing 🙂

  3. gabby345 says:

    You’re so lucky! I have track practice (so lots of drills) or a meet every Saturday and can’t do a long run on Sunday or else I would die at practice on Monday because Mondays are “hard days.” And we never run more than 7 miles at practice. I miss off season when I could do those long runs!

  4. yum those Nugo bars look good! i actually just bought a giant box of nugo bars at costco but they’re the traditional ones (chocolate, vanilla, pb chocolate) not the slim ones – looks like i might have to get my hands on some of those!

  5. Chelsea @ Chelsea Runs says:

    I had a Sunday long run today too! 11 miles 🙂 Hope your Sunday was awesome!

  6. Awesome girl! If I do a long run-I save it for Sundays! Though right now, I’m in a pretty even split that I just do about the same mileage daily. Sounds great! Have a good week! 🙂

  7. That looks like one awesome breakfast! I’ll have to go check out the recipe. 🙂
    I’ve tried one of the NuGo bars and loved it! They’re really tasty. 🙂

  8. Brittany says:

    I alternate between Saturday and Sunday for my long runs, but I do enjoy saving them for those two days. Awesome Sunday you had for sure!

Leave a Reply

