Race Recap

Happy Thursday to you all! Anyone else have a three day weekend? So pumped. There will be plenty of blog catch up, running, relaxing, and FOOD! Easter Brunch? Oh yes. And since I haven’t had a piece of candy in 37 days, probably lots of these

20120405-095100.jpg

I promised you all a race recap, and I hate breaking promises! Yesterday was my first outdoor track meet of the seasonย of my life. I just realized this year is the first time I’ve ever competed in outdoor track! Wahoooo. Any who, I hydrated well during the day and was feeling really good and excited to race.

There was a girl my coach was telling me about and she was definitely possible competition, but I avoided letting that mentally psych me out and I was ready to race. You know what my coach for next year told me? You have to hate losing more than you like winning. I think this is definitely true for me and it motivates me to give everything I have during a race.

20120405-094253.jpg

I did my warm-up making sure I stayed loose right up until go time, and suddenly I was on the line waiting for the gun to go off. Going into the race, my goal was just to finish first so I could get the points to help my team win the meet. I got out in front and just comfortably ran two miles, without anyone really pushing me. I qualified for states (I think?) and had fun! The wind was a bit of a challenge at times, but nothing too bad. Overall? A successful race!

If you’ve got the next couple days off, enjoy! And if not…don’t worry, it’s almost Friday ๐Ÿ™‚

Also, two more days to enter my Rush Bowls giveaway! Go for it.

5 thoughts on “Race Recap

  1. Alexandra says:

    Congrats on maybe qualifying for state! Sounds like it was a great race ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Tara says:

    Oh I love races like that… we usually just turn them into workouts! For states do you just have to run a qualifying time or something? I really wish our states were like that… unfortunately it comes down to one race for us and you have to place in the top 6. So if you’re having a bad day or get sick you are screwed! I really like that thing your future coach told you. That’s definitely something I need to consider!!

  3. Chelsea @ Chelsea Runs says:

    Wow good job girl! Qualifying for states and all in your first meet ever? Awesooome.

  4. Health Freak College Girl says:

    Congrats!!!!! Awesome job ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. caloricandcrazy says:

    ahhh cadbury’s mini eggs. not my absolute fave, but i get really unusual cravings for them sometimes!!

Leave a Reply

